top of page

Old and New

Been away from the bike for a while, with the exception of one or two ten to fifteen milers. Getting s bit frustrated by an on-going chest infection. Trying to be a good patient by not giving in to the urge to go and ride when feeling ill. Don't think that I am addicted to exercise, but there is an itch that needs scratching after ten days off the bike.

Frustration is being rubbed-in by the fact, Mark's nice new Shand Stoater bespoke bike had arrived and can be seen whizzing about the place. A beautiful machine, I shall be proud to follow it across Europe! Sadly, my nice new bike will not have been built by the time we set off. Bike builder and friend, Pete Bird, has a had a spot of ill-health, too, and is much in demand as a bespoke cycle builder, tandem expert and much else. So, I shall be cruising along on my faithful old Dawes Supergalaxy, now over twenty years old and still my favourite. Solid British steel of that era may be heavier than modern steel - and much heavier than a carbon-framed flying machines - but it has been all over various parts of Europe and almost all of the UK.

Listened to the interview Mark and I gave to Jiri Hosek from Czech Radio. Understood our bits. the overall tone was very good and when I manage to learn enough Czech or find someone to translate, I'm sure I'll appreciate the rest of it. Jiri said that the nearest equivalent on the BBC would be Radio Four's "From Our Own Correspondent" with a slightly more up-beat slant. The only thing I disagree with Mark about is that decent kit is not the most important thing in the cyclist's luggage, it is jelly beans.

Talking of the media, The Sentinel has been in touch, so I hope to get some coverage there before long.

Twitter is the next target. It will be the twenty-first century for me - at last! Also looking to find a neat little tablet to use for blogging when on the trip. Having little idea about these things, I will seek advice. Needs to be rugged enough to sit in a cycle pannier and light enough not to cramp my speedster image (one of this is not a real criteria - I shall let you guess which one it is).

The more I ponder the trip, the more I think that I tend to focus more on the destruction of the village than the reconstruction. I'll be finding out more about the latter. It is, after all, not just the tragic tale a Nazi oppression and destruction - all too frequent - that should be shared. It is the reaction of the people of Stoke-on-Trent and the wider world which needs to be better known by current generations. I hope to engage some schools in the City to race me over the last five days in a virtual bike race - or at least to learnt he tale behind the trip; the complete story of ordinary people conquering fear, hate and destruction.

The Friends of Barnett Stross have produced a really useful CD of resources for use by teachers. It is free. Just let us know who to send it to. There's also a wealth of film material available. I find it hard to watch some of it without becoming teary-eyed with sadness and, at other times, pride. Big chap like me shedding a tear? Well, the more I look at it the story of Lidice and the Lidice Shall Live Campaign the more I feel it shows both the best and the worst of human behaviour.

Many of our modern day woes, appear so pathetically meaningless when on looks to the events of 1942 and 1945. Yet, what happiness could we find to match that of a mother and daughter re-united? (I am assuming that is the relationship.)

RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page